Don’t Just Pay That Ticket!
Effects on Your Insurance Rates & Driving Privileges
Although jail time is seldom imposed in traffic cases, traffic convictions have very real consequences regarding your ability to obtain affordable automobile insurance and maintain your driving privileges.
Most insurance companies keep records of traffic violations and will increase your rates, or cancel your policy, if there are numerous convictions. If you receive an alcohol related traffic conviction, most insurance carriers will cancel your coverage.
Your driving privileges are also affected by your traffic convictions. Many states have a point system, or other methodology, which assigns a “point” value, and provides for suspension or revocation of your driver’s license upon accumulation of a prescribed number of points.
We have rates for routine traffic violations starting as low as $75.00.
For the convenience of our Missouri clients, the Missouri point system is set forth at the end of this section. The content is effective as of the date of preparation of this article. The reader should consult the official Missouri Revised Statutes for accuracy on of the date of reading.
Suspension of Driving Privileges
Missouri Law provides for a suspension of driving privileges upon accumulation of 8 or more points within a period of eighteen months. In the case of an initial suspension, the driver’s license will be suspended for thirty (30) days; the second such suspension will be for sixty (60) days; the third, and any such subsequent, suspension shall be ninety (90) days. The license will only be reinstated after completion of the suspension period, payment of a reinstatement fee, and filing proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 costly High Risk Insurance).
Revocation of Driver’s License
Missouri law further provides for revocation (complete loss of driver’s license) upon accumulation of 12 points within 12 months, or 18 points within 24 months, or 24 points within 36 months. A person whose license has been revoked must reapply for a new license after expiration of the revocation period. Again, the application must be accompanied by proof of financial responsibility – SR-22 High Risk Insurance.
Missouri Department of Revenue
Missouri Point System
The point system in Missouri is as follows :
- 8 Points accumulated in 18 months / 1st time – 30 days, 2nd time – 60 days, 3rd time – 90 days/SR22 filing required or 2 years
- 1 year without a moving violation, points reduced by a third, 2 years without a moving violation, remaining points reduced by half, 3 years without a moving violation, points erased.
- License revokation required for 12 pts/1 year, 18 pts/2 years, 24 pts/3 years
- Additional 2 points assessed for violations if related to an accident
- Tickets are reported to non-resident’s drivers home state under the Drivers License Compact.
- Point file opened on non-resident drivers
Speeding: 3 Points for violation of state law | 2 Points in violation of county/municipal ordinance
12 Point Violations
- Obtaining License by mis-representation
- Leaving the scene of an accident (RSMo 577.060)
- Operating without license under suspension/revokation & prior to restoration
- 2nd or more offense of DWI, DUI, Driving with 0.08 BAC or more
- Any felony involving the use of a motor vehicle
8 Point Violations
- First offense of DWI, DUI, driving with 0.08 BAC or more
6 Point Violations
- Leaving the scene of an accident (Couinty/municipal violation)
4 Point Violations
- Careless & imprudent driving (RSMo 304.016)
- Knowingly permitting unlicensed operator to operate motor vehicle
3 Point Violations
- Speeding in violation of state law
2 Point Violations
- Any violation not listed above and not an equipment violation
- Municipal/County violations not listed above
Avoid points wherever possible. If you receive a traffic violation, contact our office. We have affordable rates. We can help you keep your driving record clean and avoid high insurance rates.
- Missouri Dept. of Revenue: FAQs about Driver’s Licenses
- Failure to Appear in Court or Pay a Traffic Violation
- Explanation of the Point System
- DWI Information
- Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Information
- Red Light Camera Tickets – St. Louis City Court
- SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program)
- How to Report an Unsafe Driver in Missouri
For experienced professional representation, contact our office today at (314) 725-1880.
DISCLAIMER: THE PRECEDING INFORMATION WAS OF A GENERAL NATURE AND NOT MEANT TO CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE OR TO BE USED IN, OR APPLIED TO, ANY INDIVIDUAL SITUATION. THIS GENERAL INFORMATION IS APPLICABLE TO THE STATE OF MISSOURI AND MAY NOT BE VALID UNDER THE LAWS OF OTHER STATES. IF THE READER HAS SPECIFIC LEGAL QUESTIONS, HE OR SHE SHOULD CONTACT AN ATTORNEY.